Would You Say That to a Man?

Of Means and Ends

sexism

“I’m not going to apply for the job because I want you to get it.”

I was in my mid-20s and a promotion opened up in my division at work and I planned to apply for it. Given the hierarchy in our department, one male coworker and I were the natural ones to consider for the job. When the topic came up, that’s what he said to me: “I’m not going to apply for the job because I want you to get it.” I don’t remember what I said in the moment, but I remember quietly seething and thinking, “Don’t do me any favors. Go ahead and apply and I’ll still get it.”

View original post 982 more words

This entry was posted in posts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Would You Say That to a Man?

  1. Thanks for reblogging!

    Like

Leave a Reply

